2017 Site: University of Edinburgh

Back to Past Sites


Teambuild 2017 challenged teams to plan, design and present hypothetical proposals based around the McEwan Hall Refurbishment and the Bristo Square and Potterow Development. The University of Edinburgh and Interserve Construction Ltd were generous enough to provide the teams with real site information to form the basis of their hypothetical scenarios, giving an added sense of realism to the proceedings.

The winning team, InSite, were awarded a cash prize of £2,000, sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Constructors, and presented by the Master, Tony Ward. They were commended for their professionalism, enthusiasm and team working skills. The team comprises six young professionals from BDP and Mace. The members of the winning team are: Aidan Kelly (IMechE, BDP); Georgia Blood (APM, BDP); Matthew Trueman (ICE, BDP); James Mangat (RICS, Mace); Robyn Poulson (RIBA, BDP) and Lilly Sanderson (ICE, BDP).

The Procurement Strategy Prize of £1,500, awarded by the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects, was presented by Master Stephen Wagstaffe to Meitheal, a team from Hawkins\Brown, Skelly & Couch Ltd, Sweco, Hoare Lea, Reiach and Hall Architects and Gardiner & Theobald LLP.

The Judges Prize of £1,250 is discretionary and this year was awarded to the runners-up, Constellation, comprised of members from Mott MacDonald, Sinclair Johnston & Partners, ISG and Peregrine Bryant Architecture. An individual prize for Leadership was awarded this year by the LCCI Commercial Education Trust, who have supported Teambuild for five years. The prize of £500 was awarded to Hugh Counsell, an architect from Hawkins\Brown.


Back to Past Sites

Sponsored and supported by