Reflections on the 2015 Competition

(download the Press Release here)

With a brief dominated by infrastructure-investment and SMARTcities innovation, the 2015 Teambuild Finalists were challenged to their limits. The result was a series of outstanding proposals from 11 inspiring teams, demonstrating true excellence in communication: and finally, triumph for ‘BlueSteel’, a team from Hawkins\Brown, Arup, Price & Myers, Max Fordham, Balfour Beatty and Sir Robert McAlpine.


That winning team, excelling against a strong field, was formed of individuals from companies across the spectrum of the construction industry. All aged under 30, and majority-female, they demonstrated excellent team-working and collaboration skills. Their proposals put the feedback loop in the foreground of their design and procurement ambitions, using digital technology to harness data in use, and enable an evolving, ever-more efficient, operational asset, based around local identity and local employment. The team were awarded a cash prize of £2,000, sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Constructors.


Teambuild 2015 challenged teams to plan, design and present hypothetical proposals based around ‘Edinburgh Gateway’- the complex infrastructure interchange at Gogar, west of Edinburgh, connecting road, tram, rail and air transport. The base project information was provided by the real site team for the new interchange: WSP|PB allowed competitors viewing access to the federated project BIM model through Autodesk’s BIMglue software. A further level of challenge was provided by asking teams to engage with the SMARTcities concept, and make intelligent data management and IT a key driver in developing their schemes.


Eleven teams, representing twenty-four top construction industry companies, made it through to the hotly-contested finals, and impressed throughout with their professionalism, enthusiasm and dedication. Their performance was evaluated by fourteen senior industry figures, each representing a construction institution. This year the panel included George Adams (PP CIBSE), Peter Murray (Master of the Worshipful Company of Constructors, and Chair of NLA), Patricia Newton (PM Worshipful Company of Constructors), and John Brennan (FCIOB, past winner of CMYA).


Some Comments from the judges:


John Brennan, FCIOB, Project Director at Skanska Plc

“Teambuild is a great event, and it has been very rewarding to observe the teams get together over the demanding tasks set, and all of them rising to the challenge to be the best!

“Very similar to Real-Life project situations, this is a great learning experience for all those taking part.”


John Sayers, Considerate Constructors Scheme Ambassador

“It was a delight to see such enthusiasm and passion for the industry from each team. Every participant understood the value of teamwork and, over the course of the two days, gained a number of essential skills. On behalf of the Scheme, I would like to congratulate the winners and thank each team for taking part.”


Ade Awujoola, ASHRAE, and CEO of Cool Plus (Lagos)

“This is one of those experiences you just can’t forget”


Richard Rooley, PPASHRAE, Chairman of the Competition

“The calibre of our judges this year was extraordinary; matched only by their dedication to the task. It is wonderful to see so many of the winning teams made up from multiple companies across the industry, working together towards a common goal.  The future of our industry is in good hands.”

Sponsored and supported by